HOME / NEWS / Difference Between Vegetarian Capsules And Empty Hard Gelatin Capsules

Difference Between Vegetarian Capsules And Empty Hard Gelatin Capsules

  Capsules are known to be the delivery method of choice for drugs and supplements. They dissolve quickly, are fairly inexpensive, and are easy to fill, making them suitable for home and commercial consumption. Contrary to various other delivery methods, the substance is not added directly to the drug or supplement without affecting its efficacy.

  The supplement empty capsules are available for purchase in two different categories; traditional gelatin caps and vegetarian varieties. While both may suit your needs, it's important to understand the difference between gelatin and vegetarian capsules. Understanding the benefits of each capsule allows you to better serve your consumers and their needs.

  Pros and cons of empty hard gelatin capsules

  Gelatin is the original and most common material used to produce capsules. It's the less expensive option, and there are a variety of options. These capsules are available in a variety of colors, flavors, and sizes to suit your needs. However, gelatin is an animal by-product formed from collagen. The protein is obtained from connective tissue and animal organs, which could be a major flop for some consumers. Individuals with religious or dietary restrictions prohibiting the consumption of such animal products will not be suitable for traditional empty hard gelatin capsules. While this may be small in your customer base, it's still a factor you may want to consider.

  Another factor to consider when choosing between gelatin and vegetarian capsules is what they will be filled with. Empty hard gelatin capsules are for powdered medications or supplements only. Various other materials such as liquid and gel are not compatible with capsules made from gelatin.

  Pros and cons of vegetarian capsules

  One of the most obvious advantages of using cellulose or vegetarian capsules is that they are not made with animal by-products. This unique property makes them suitable for individuals who choose not to consume products of animal origin. In addition to being an obvious choice for vegetarian and vegan consumers, vegetarian capsules are also more acceptable for religious reasons. Vegetarian capsules are generally considered suitable for classification as kosher and halal products. This opens up options for a larger customer base. These capsules are available in a variety of colors and sizes and are more flexible in application. For materials with more semi-solid or gel compositions, cellulose is the preferred capsule matrix. Additionally, vegetarian capsules have no known potential health risks, even with long-term consumption, as they are 100% natural and non-toxic.